Brief History of the Veterinary Medicine Department

The Department of Veterinary Surgery and Medicine was one of the four Departments of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine established in 1965. The Department in collaboration with the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and University of Ibadan produced graduates of the DVM degree between 1966 and 1971. The first PhD and M.Sc were produced by the Department in 1976 and 1977 respectively. The Department of Veterinary Surgery and Medicine gave birth to the Veterinary Teaching Hospital in 1985. In 2012 three Departments were created from the Department of Veterinary Surgery and Medicine namely Department of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary Surgery and Radiology and Theriogenology and Production. The Department of Veterinary Medicine currently consist of four Units; Large Animal, Small Animal, Avian Fisheries and Wildlife and Information Services. Along with the other departments in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University, Research Institutes and the Veterinary Teaching Hospital the Department participate in the training of graduate students for the MSc and PhD degree programmes. The Department is strongly positioned in the areas of rabies, tuberculosis, Newcastle disease, Gumboro disease and avian influenza disease, dermatophilosis and nutritional and metabolic diseases of ruminants and parasitic diseases. The Department is located within the premises of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FVM) Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. The Department was established for academic and clinical training of undergraduate and postgraduate students. It got its teaching methodology from the set of lecturers from Kansas State University, USA. The Department also renders clinical and consultancy services to its immediate community, in Zaria, Kaduna and neighboring states. The Department works and relates closely with other departments in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FVM), Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH), National Animal Production Research Institute, National Agricultural Extension and Research Liaison Services, National Veterinary Research Institute, Department of Biological Sciences and Faculties of Medicine and Pharmaceutical Sciences in areas of postgraduate teaching and research. The Department teaches clinics and clinical courses to undergraduate students of the FVM and offers MSc and PhD degrees in Large Animal, Small Animal and Avian Medicine. Approval has been given for the Department to offer graduate degrees in other specialized areas such as Food Animal, Small Animal, Equine, Avian, Fish and Wildlife Medicine.. .